The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

5 posters

New member, prospective owner of the GM40 here -- a few questions

dannyboytron
    dannyboytron

New member, prospective owner of the GM40 here -- a few questions Empty New member, prospective owner of the GM40 here -- a few questions

Post by dannyboytron Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:05 pm

Hi everyone, new member here on the forum!

I actually registered just to get some input and advice from owners of Hughes and Kettner amps, particularly the GM40.

I'm a rather passionate hobbyist and play mostly hard rock, heavy metal, thrash, metalcore, downtuned progressive (aka djent) and a bit of everything in between with my band. I love heavy chugging down-tuned riffs and rhythms. My favorite bands include Metallica, Pantera, Chevelle, Slipknot, Deftones, Alter Bridge, Periphery, Lamb of God and Killswitch Engage. Recently however, I've been trying to expand my musical palette and have started listening to SRV, Hendrix, Red Hot Chili Peppers and the like.

I've been saving up to get a GM40 since I first saw demos of it on Youtube -- I love how it can save presets and how affordable the thing is. I love the versatility and the built-in effects as well.

Before I get the GM40, I do have some questions:

1) Do I need to change the stock Chinese tubes? I've heard from a few people that changing the tubes is essential to get the most out of the amp. What tubes would you guys recommend?