The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

3 posters

Pre Amp Tubes

papa_moz
    papa_moz

Pre Amp Tubes Empty Pre Amp Tubes

Post by papa_moz Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:20 am

Recently purchased a GM40 Deluxe. In general, loving the tone and versatility. Looking to swap tubes but can not locate any info/schematic that specifies which Preamp tube is V1, 2, 3. Looking from the front, are they left to right or right to left?

I've plenty of experience swapping tubes but Ive always been able to locate a schematic, except for this amp.

Thanks for any help
    gravydb
    gravydb

Pre Amp Tubes Empty Re: Pre Amp Tubes

Post by gravydb Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:31 am

Hey papa.
    Looking at the front of the amp, the tubes are ordered from right to left. Meaning, V1 is the one that's closest to the input jack.

Enjoy, and let us know how it goes with the tube swapping !
    papa_moz
    papa_moz

Post by papa_moz Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:34 am

Thanks. I thought so but I didn't want to assume.

Replacing with a set of JJ's, Will post as soon as they arrive and have been put through their paces.
    gravydb
    gravydb

Post by gravydb Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:47 am

I have JJ's in my GM36, preamp and poweramp tubes.

Yeah keep us posted!!!
    papa_moz
    papa_moz

Post by papa_moz Tue Jan 24, 2017 10:02 pm

Dropped in the JJ tubes today and put it through its paces. Here are some observations:

1- The overall gain structure is much clearer. That fizziness is all gone.
    2- I think its actually less noisy at higher gain settings than the stock tubes.