The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

2 posters

Changing Preset Names in Grandmeister Remote App

Bull_Earwig
    Bull_Earwig

Changing Preset Names in Grandmeister Remote App Empty Changing Preset Names in Grandmeister Remote App

Post by Bull_Earwig Mon Jun 12, 2017 4:50 pm

How many of you find changing names of your presets easy?

I'm an IPad newbie, so I asked a friend with a lot of experience, and he thought the app was broken and had a lot of difficulty trying to initiate editing of a preset name.

Now, the little Info notspot up in the left corner is really cool- it's worth your time to tap it and read it all. There it explains "To edit the preset name tap and hold the text window for at least three seconds."

I was beginning to wonder just how long "at least three seconds" might be. If it's three seconds, just say that. If, in fact, your software takes 3.01 seconds, no one will notice.

Until I read the three seconds advice I was wondering if I had pushed hard enough on the screen and tried pushing harder for much more than 3 seconds. If touch screen functionality fails there first, I'll know why.

But I've finally reached the conclusion that if you push the button and then move your finger the tiniest amount in any direction, then you can leave your finger there forever and you will never, ever initiate editing.

Go ahead and try this:
    1. Touch a preset name
    2. Slide your finger 3 mm to the right
    3. Hold your finger there until you are convinced nothing is going to happen.

A similar thing happens in some Windows apps and it's really stupid: you're trying to do a double click, but make a micromovement between clicks.