The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

3 posters

40W vs 20W - tone difference?

proddy
    proddy

40W vs 20W - tone difference? Empty 40W vs 20W - tone difference?

Post by proddy Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:11 am

Hi all, I'm new to H&K and delighted so far with my GM40 and 212 H&K V30 Cab.

I have a question about the Power Soak. Tone-wise will there be a huge difference running at the full 40W using a lower Master volume (25%) say versus switching to 20W with the Master a little higher at around 50%?

I know the pros & cons at running 20W (saving tube life, but more heat etc) but not sure what the trade offs are in terms of overall tone & sound. I haven't been able to try this out myself at volume yet so just throwing it out there....

proddy
    proddy

40W vs 20W - tone difference? Empty Re: 40W vs 20W - tone difference?

Post by proddy Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:46 am

Right, probably should have looked at other posts in the forum before posting this. There's a great deal of live comparisons done with the GM36 (see https://handkusers.forumotion.com/t155-master-volume-settings). I think the sweet spot is to keep the Master around 12-noon if possible for crunch/leads so I'll be trying this at 20W. And also going from 40->20 W doesn't use the Power Soak, just switches off 2 of the 4 power amp tubes which makes sense.
    JonnyNonsense
    JonnyNonsense

Post by JonnyNonsense Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:08 pm

To my ears, remarkably, the GM40 doesn't really have a 'sweet spot'. It sounds better loud than it does at bedroom volume, but the tone is generally very consistent.

Personally I just run the clean sounds at 40w and the distorted sounds at 20w, that seems to work perfectly.
    bordonbert
    bordonbert