The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

2 posters

New TM36 user here... Should i swap tubes right away?

patmurris
    patmurris

New TM36 user here... Should i swap tubes right away? Empty New TM36 user here... Should i swap tubes right away?

Post by patmurris Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:39 pm

Hi all and thank you for the great discussions on this forum.

I have a TM 36 on order from Thomann - which should be delivered tomorrow, along with the matching 1x12 HK cab. Can't wait to light it up! lol.

However, i'm new to tube amps and i'm reading a lot on the matter these days... getting acquainted with technical aspects like changing tubes and tone issues.

Now i'm wondering whether i should swap tubes right away on my expected TM36?

I read so many comments about this or that amp that got much 'better' after retubing, TM36 included.

I also read part of the "tube swapping thread" somewhere on this forum and got lost in all the subtleties of what various tube brands or models achieve in this or that position (V1, V2, V3) so i'm definitely not going to try this kind of voodoo right away. The most 'obvious' and simple swap i'm considering would be a set of JJs 12AX7/EL84 to start with.

What do you think?

Thanks for reading. Wink
    patmurris
    patmurris

New TM36 user here... Should i swap tubes right away? Empty Re: New TM36 user here... Should i swap tubes right away?

Post by patmurris Fri Oct 05, 2018 6:04 pm

Some unpacking and setup picts:

New TM36 user here... Should i swap tubes right away? Hughes%20and%20Kettner%20Tubemeister%2036%2001_1024

New TM36 user here... Should i swap tubes right away? Hughes%20and%20Kettner%20Tubemeister%2036%2002_1024

Along a PRS CE24: