The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

3 posters

Tubemeister 36 - Too Bright on all channels

Mojoampguy
    Mojoampguy

Tubemeister 36 - Too Bright on all channels Empty Tubemeister 36 - Too Bright on all channels

Post by Mojoampguy Fri Oct 15, 2021 3:32 pm

My Tubemeister 36 1 x12 combo has gone too Trebbly on Clean, Crunch, Lead channels. Even with Treble in Zero, Bass on Max, Middle in Max too bright. I’ve checked the valves on my valve tester, all good. It’s not a potentiometer issues as it’s common to all channels.

I’m an amp tech and guitarist. I’m willing to have a look even without a schematic, but I can figure out how to get the chassis out of the cabinet. Don’t want to break the front panel light.

1. Anyone suffered this ultra bright / lack of bass problem?

2. Any tips on getting the chassis out without breaking the front panel? Does it just Reed brute force as it’s never been removed before? Or is there a trick to remove the clipped on front panel?

A schematic would be magic.

Thanks for your help.
    bordonbert
    bordonbert

Tubemeister 36 - Too Bright on all channels Empty Re: Tubemeister 36 - Too Bright on all channels

Post by bordonbert Sat Oct 16, 2021 3:52 pm

Hi Mojoampguy, sorry to hear about your problem. We don't tend to get too many queries about the combos nowadays so I don't have a lot of info re their breakdown I'm afraid, I've never had one under my hands. I'm hoping someone else with experience will see this and chip in. Failing that it will just be down to loosening screws a little at a time until you can figure out what exactly needs to be removed to allow the amp block to be extracted.