The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

2 posters

Clicking when turning knobs

RoadShow
    RoadShow

Clicking when turning knobs Empty Clicking when turning knobs

Post by RoadShow Sat Feb 23, 2019 1:07 pm

Hello,

I'm new to H&K and just bought a used Grandmeister 36 off of Reverb. The amp sounds great.

When I turn any of the knobs I get a soft clicking sound while turning them. This is normal? Unique to H&K or other amps as well? I've only used Fender Twins and Marshall JTM45s, 2203s, etc.

Sounds obvious, I just wanted to ask.

Thx,

Bill
    RoadShow
    RoadShow

Clicking when turning knobs Empty Re: Clicking when turning knobs

Post by RoadShow Sat Feb 23, 2019 1:12 pm

RoadShow wrote:Hello,

I'm new to H&K and just bought a used Grandmeister 36 off of Reverb.  The amp sounds great.

When I turn any of the knobs I get a soft clicking sound while turning them.  This is normal?  Unique to H&K or other amps as well?  I've only used Fender Twins and Marshall JTM45s, 2203s, etc.

Sounds obvious, I just wanted to ask.

Thx,

Bill

OK, guilty of asking and then RTFM, found this in manual:

Heads Up: You may hear a soft background noise when twisting knobs.
    This sound is made by the Programmable Resistor Network (PRN™️), as
    it switches its 256 resistors: Each of these rotary controls consists of 256
    individual resistors in serial array, 256 switches, and a memory with the
    ability to save and recall every switch's position.
    bordonbert
    bordonbert

Post by bordonbert Mon Feb 25, 2019 10:30 am