The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

2 posters

'Boost' randomly activates!

Cmayer66
    Cmayer66

'Boost' randomly activates! Empty 'Boost' randomly activates!

Post by Cmayer66 Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:16 pm

Please help! I have the GMD40 in conjunction with the FSM 432 MKIII and on at least 8 occasions in 6 hours of play the boost function randomly turns on! Since I am new to this rig I just thought I was hitting it by accident, or, I don't know, doing something wrong, but while I was sitting there guitar in hand staring at the amp wondering about all the ways I could be the problem and not the amp, it happened. Just sitting there staring at the face of the am in the clean channel - 1 watt saturation - in sb mode on the foot switch - the amp decided it was time to 'boost' without my permission.

Does anyone know how I can correct this problem without having to return the equipment? I'm super happy with it otherwise.

Thanks for reading. I'll be standing by with fingers crossed.
    bordonbert
    bordonbert

'Boost' randomly activates! Empty Re: 'Boost' randomly activates!

Post by bordonbert Tue Jun 18, 2019 10:27 pm

So you are controlling it via a FSM432. Check to see whether you have this problem when you run the amp manually without the FSM432 attached. Play it for a while with just the switches controlling your changes. (I know it's a pain, I have had to do this myself.) It is very possible that the problem isn't in the amp but is in the foot controller unit. In Stompbox mode as you said you use you have a switch dedicated to the Boost function. If that switch is dodgy or if its control line has some other issue it may be triggering the Boost to switch when you aren't kicking it about.