The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

+3
namklak
gravydb
KebSan
7 posters

GM problem with random modulation

KebSan
    KebSan

GM problem with random modulation  Empty GM problem with random modulation

Post by KebSan Thu Apr 09, 2015 6:53 am

I've had my GM for about 2 months now and I am very impressed! I've been playing for over 25 years and I've owned lots of boutique amps (Mesa, VHT, Tone King, Bad Cat, etc.) but the GM is just as toneful as any of them and much more versatile. I'm very fickle when it comes to amps and I've eBayed far more amps than I've kept, but the GM is definitely a keeper...if I can solve this problem.

Currently I play in a 90's alternative cover band and I just gigged it for the first time. The amp had been on and idling for maybe a half hour and when I switched it off standby and started sound checking there was a bad modulation / chorus-y type of sound that you could hear on every patch. It sounded a bit like a chorus effect with the modulation turned too high and made everything sound slightly out of tune. Understand that many of those patches did not have ANY fx programmed into them.

I went into fx mode on a few of the patches, turned the fx intensity all the way off and saved the patches. The bad modulation sound was still there. I tried everything - turning the amp off and letting it cool for a while, creating new patches from scratch, etc. but nothing got rid of that nasty modulation sound. Unfortunately I had no choice but to play the entire gig with the amp sounding that bad. What a nightmare!