The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

3 posters

Trying to get a good Headphone solution using RedBox.

Benny
    Benny

Trying to get a good Headphone solution using RedBox. Empty Trying to get a good Headphone solution using RedBox.

Post by Benny Sat Jan 30, 2021 6:44 am

I'm new to all this stuff, so bear with me!
    I have a GM40 and Barefaced Cabinet 2 * 12. I practice early mornings and sometimes late at night.
    Looking to utilise the GM40's natural sound through to a set of Headphones. I was thinking Redbox to either Focusrite Scarlett Solo or Presonas Audiobox iOne to good open-back studio Headphones. I have an iRig HD 2 connected to Redbox, the sound through Headphones is sh1t (getting some kind of background hum, increasing gain or volume makes the setup useless). Anyone got any words of Wisdom, don't have the knowledge to go this alone. Iv'e read up on XLR, line level etc. and am more confused than when I started. As they say, a little knowledge is a dangerous thing...
    bordonbert
    bordonbert

Trying to get a good Headphone solution using RedBox. Empty Re: Trying to get a good Headphone solution using RedBox.

Post by bordonbert Mon Feb 01, 2021 10:01 am

Hi Benny.

My views on this would possibly not be the same as some other members.  I'm an electronics engineer and that is where I firmly stand.  For me, (and the whole of the rest of the electronics world if not the music one), the engineering is the aspect on which predictability and reliability are based.  Mojo is just engineering that the user doesn't understand.  Mojo breeds myths!  Trying to rely on it is not the way to get to a true understanding of something nor is it the basis of any reliable solution.