The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

2 posters

Perhaps one more item to think about for the harsh top end problem - tuning your guitar resonance (why pickup resistance is not generally useful)

bordonbert
    bordonbert

Perhaps one more item to think about for the harsh top end problem - tuning your guitar resonance (why pickup resistance is not generally useful) Empty Perhaps one more item to think about for the harsh top end problem - tuning your guitar resonance (why pickup resistance is not generally useful)

Post by bordonbert Sat Aug 07, 2021 9:01 am

As an electronics design engineer I am used to picking at deeper and deeper levels of understanding in circuits.  This issue of the H&K amps, (in my case the GM36), and their upper end is like that.  There are the big details which make a lot of difference, like the choice of speaker you make and the actual voicing of the amps, then there are finer details which may not have so much of an effect but which surface when you sort out the coarser ones, like the idea of "blanketing" the speaker with materials to slightly remove some of that top end.  Then there are general ideas which may or may not be relevant to the problem at hand as you see it.  Here is one of those for you to consider.