The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

2 posters

LED strip replacement

Rico
    Rico

LED strip replacement Empty LED strip replacement

Post by Rico Mon Sep 20, 2021 3:51 pm

Hi there,

I'd love to change my GM40 color scheme. I am total noob when it comes to electronics so I came here for advice. What I plan to do is to open up the amp (following the warranty safe method posted by Bordonbert), take a look at the LED strip/strips on board, purchase similar strips apart from the color, swap them et voila!

Should I be fine or am I missing something? The last thing I want to so is to damage my amp, or worse, affect its tone.

Thanks for the advice! If I ever get it done I'll post pictures.

Rico
    bordonbert
    bordonbert

LED strip replacement Empty Re: LED strip replacement

Post by bordonbert Tue Sep 21, 2021 12:26 am

No, don't worry about altering tone, that won't happen, unless you are talking about the tone of your mood maybe? Cool   I don't have access to the GM40D service data so I can only speak from the perspective of the GM36 which I do know but in most things the two are exactly the same, or the same in principle, so hopefully this should help.  This won't be the easy job you may expect it to be.