The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

2 posters

Iconoclast FX loop question. Please help!

ARK1391
    ARK1391

Iconoclast FX loop question. Please help! Empty Iconoclast FX loop question. Please help!

Post by ARK1391 Tue Oct 29, 2019 3:25 pm

Hello! I'm new to this whole FX loop thing, and I have what is probably a silly question but I figured I would ask before trying this and potentially ruining my H&K GM36.

I'm trying to set up my GM36 with a Neunaber Iconoclast plugged directly in my Focusrite USB interface. I don't have a cab hooked into this so I'm running straight from the RedBox out on the GM36.

Now Neunaber has a diagram of how to hook up the Iconoclast into the FX loop (which is what I want for my pedal board) of an amp and plug the Iconoclast into a USB interface (I have linked an image of said diagram) However, my concern is that using this method I'm not running my amps DI into my interface and I know that if you don't use that on the GM36 you could damage the amp? Unless I'm mistaken and I can use it in silent mode without going through the Redbox DI.

How would you go about doing this? Can I go straight from the FX loop into the interface without using the DI or do I need to change this set up somehow?

Thanks for your help! again sorry if this is a dumb question but I've never set this sort of thing up before...
    bordonbert
    bordonbert

Iconoclast FX loop question. Please help! Empty Re: Iconoclast FX loop question. Please help!

Post by bordonbert Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:19 am

"...and I know that if you don't use that on the GM36 you could damage the amp? Unless I'm mistaken and I can use it in silent mode without going through the Redbox DI."