The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Hughes & Kettner User Forum

The Unofficial guitar amp and cabinets forum for users of Hughes and Kettner products. We are not affiliated with Hughes and Kettner!!

2 posters

Cab for TubeMeister 20

Dangercow
    Dangercow

Cab for TubeMeister 20 Empty Cab for TubeMeister 20

Post by Dangercow Thu Nov 21, 2019 5:43 pm

I am new to guitar, and am looking to get a 2x12 cab for my TM20; does anyone have experience with a TubeMeister into the Orange 2x12 with Celestion V30's?

I'm leaning towards the Orange strictly for aesthetic reasons, but am concerned that it may not be the best match for a H&K head?  I heard that the H&K Celestion V30's may be voiced for their own head tone?
    bordonbert
    bordonbert

Cab for TubeMeister 20 Empty Re: Cab for TubeMeister 20

Post by bordonbert Fri Nov 22, 2019 8:40 am

Hi Dangercow.

Yes, H&K have confirmed to me that the V30 that they use is specially voiced for them by Celestion so how close it is to a stock version is really anybody's guess.  And the design of their own 2x12 is a bit of a mystery.  It seems to be vented with no real need for it.  That said, it is one of the best sounding cabs to use with H&K gear in my opinion.  I have used my GM36 with V30s and my own feeling on that combo is that I wouldn't put them in the same room together.  The V30 emphasised the GM36's top end edge and turned it to shrillness and gave it a nasally quality which I didn't like at all.  And the tone controls proved to have very little ability to dial any of that out.  That said, I play 60s/70s classic rock and the GM36 is not good for that genre anyway, so someone playing more modern stuff may very well like the edge that the V30 gives.  We have had people say that they personally liked the combination.  If you are a high gain player then it may suit, if you are an oldie like me it probably won't.